One Is The Loneliest Number

Today the Royal Canadian Mint (for non-Canadians RCM makes all our coins) stopped its production of the penny. You know, that little copper coloured nuisance that can’t do much on its own except weigh down your wallet? Every time I think I’ve spent all the pennies in my wallet, 10 more appear.

The loonie (or a dollar, if you prefer, but Canadians have a $1 coin affectionately known as the loonie because of the loon on the tail of the coin) isn’t lonely. It takes 100 pennies to make up that single loonie and the penny, when combined with other pennies, can make up any amount of currency. Alas, there’s nothing that can add up to a penny. And so, that pathetic $0.01 is a very lonely piece of currency indeed. And now we’re trying to get rid of it. Oh penny, it seems as if even our banks and producer of coins are against us singles. Pair up or go away is what they’re trying to subtly tell us.

Poor penny. Even the other currencies don’t like singles.

What do you suppose the penny would say of its impending demise?

  • Nancy Pennigan: “Why? Why me? Whhhhy???”
  • Sally Pennifield: “You don’t like me. You really don’t like me!”
  • Penny Maguire: “Show me the penny! Oh wait, you can’t… Sadness.”
  • SoloSity Penny: “Why must we all pair off like we’re on Noah’s Ark?”
  • Wicked Penny of Canada: “I’m melting! Meeelting” – this one’s funnier if you knew that RCM’s melting the pennies down. Note to self: jokes are never funny if you have to explain them.

Fear not, penny! Though we are no longer making you (and many of us despise you), you will be in circulation until you stop multiplying like horny bunnies in our wallets!

As I end this post I have Penny from Big Bang Theory singing “Soft Kitty” in my head. Bet it’s stuck in your head now too. *Evil cackle*

February 5 – A Quick Update: I swear I got rid of all my pennies yesterday at Tim Horton’s. This morning I went to Starbucks on my way to work and the lady gave me 5 pennies back! She couldn’t give me a nickle??? I guess she’s trying to get rid of the pennies too.

Leave a Reply

